The rehabilitation of the J.E. Upton Block in Blairmore Alberta built in 1922 redeveloped the upper second floor as four residential units (original usage) and converted half of the original retail space on the main floor to two residential suites.
Architecturally the building represented an uncommon construction type to the Crowsnest Pass area. The hollow clay tile and stucco is unique to the Southern Alberta construction techtonics. The Mission style of architecture with the decorative elements is also unique to the area.
The restoration of the building’s exterior was an important part of the restoration of the historic main street of Blairmore. It involved the:
• Removal of existing aluminum storefront and accurate replication of the wood and glass storefront
• Removal of the existing stair and entry door and reinstallation of a historically accurate door and transom, wood steps and handrails
• Repair and restoration of the original stucco finish
• Replacement of the deteriorated wood vegas
• Repair of existing original wood window frames
• Replacement of existing wood slats in the bell niches to match original design
• Refinishing of existing light fixtures
The rehabilitation of the building’s usage required fire code upgrades and exit tower. Balconies, decks and stairs were added as residential amenities.